Curators & Staff
Search the Collections

Divisional Staff

Stefan Nicolescu
Collections Manager
Fax 203.432.9816


Barbara Narendra
Archivist/Museum Assistant
Fax 203.432.9816


Jay Ague
Curator and Head of Division


Noah Planavsky

Assistant Curator



Mailing Address

Division of Mineralogy and Meteoritics
Peabody Museum of Natural History
Yale University
P.O. Box 208118
New Haven, CT 06520-8118 USA


Shipping Address

Division of Mineralogy and Meteoritics
Peabody Museum of Natural History
Yale University
170–210 Whitney Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511 USA



Professor Jay J. Ague studies the metamorphic and igneous rocks that comprise the deep roots of mountain belts. Example research areas include fluid and heat flow through rocks, earthquake hazards, volcanism, economic mineral deposits, and the deep-Earth carbon cycle. Recently, his lab has focused considerable effort on understanding the long-term effects of chemical reactions in subsurface carbon dioxide sequestration reservoirs. He has led or participated in geological expeditions across the globe including British Columbia, California, Greece, Italy, Namibia, New England, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, the Rockies, Scotland, South Africa, Svalbard, and Washington State. He is the author or coauthor of more than 100 publications, including scientific papers, invited book chapters, conference abstracts, and a textbook on rock formation processes.

Professor Ague has been a faculty member in the Department of Geology & Geophysics at Yale University since 1988 and is currently the Henry Barnard Davis Memorial Professor of Geology & Geophysics and the Chair of the Department. He is heavily involved in public outreach through his work at the Yale Peabody Museum, including leading the development of the Museum’s multimedia Hall of Minerals, Earth, and Space (HoMES). He served as the Museum’s Acting Director in 2008. Professor Ague received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in geology from Wayne State University, and his Ph.D. in geology from the University of California at Berkeley.



Faculty Affiliate

Ronald B. Smith



Curatorial Affiliates


Ted E. Bunch

Anthony J. Irving

Charles Merguerian
Paul P. Sipiera
H. Catherine W. Skinner


The honorary titles of Curatorial Affiliate and Faculty Affiliate are given to individuals who give some of their time and expertise to the Division. Affiliates are appointed by a vote of the Board of Curators and typically serve a 5-year renewable term.